New individual champion

will be crowned at Bloomington

Two of the top five finishers in the 1998 girls state championship race will challenge the hills of Bloomington as Indiana University plays host to the IHSAA Girls Cross Country State Finals Saturday (Nov. 6) for the third year. This is the 19th year for the IHSAA Girls Cross Country State Finals.

In the 4,000-meter girls race, junior Robyn Detty of Lawrence North returns from a fourth-place finish in 1998 and after posting the state's top semi-state time last week. She won the Franklin Central Semi-State by 18 seconds in 14:16. Also expected to be at the top of the pack is Wheeler junior Michelle DelaVina, the third-place finisher in 1998. DelaVina won two events in the 1999 IHSAA Track and Field State finals, taking the 1600 meters in 4:55.22, and the 3200 meters in 10:48.48.

Detty and DelaVina will be joined by senior Jessica Dietrich of New Albany (11th in 1998), senior Kara Nowak (12th) of Columbus North and junior Casey Schneider (13th) of North Harrison from the top 15 finishers in 1998.

In the New Prairie Semi-State last week, DelaVina edged Plymouth freshman Morgan Uceny by two seconds to repeat as the champion in 14:37. Other semi-state champions were freshman Winter Holman of Brownstown Central in 14:33.62 at Terre Haute North and sophomore Katy Pryor of New Castle in 14:26 at Manchester.

Team champions were Lawrence North (43) at Franklin Central, West Noble (91) at Manchester, Valparaiso (53) at New Prairie and New Albany (80) at Terre Haute North. This week's state coaches association poll ranked Lawrence North and Valparaiso as co-No. 1 teams, followed by New Albany, Carmel, defending state champion Westfield and West Noble.

1999 STATE FINALS

November 6, 1999, 1 p.m.

Indiana University Course, Bloomington

Team Qualifiers: Top five teams from each semi-state site.

Individual Qualifiers: Top 15 individuals from each semi-state site and those from qualifying teams.

Tickets: \$4.

Media Credentials: The 1999-2000 IHSAA State Finals Media Pass will be honored.

COMPETING TEAMS

Bellmont

Ben Davis

Bloomington South

Carmel

Chesterton

Clarksville

Columbus North

Floyd Central

Fort Wayne Northrop

Homestead

Lake Central

LaPorte

Lawrence North

Martinsville

Michigan City

New Albany

Valparaiso

Warsaw

West Noble

Westfield

INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIERS FROM NON-ADVANCING TEAMS

Christan Bahler, Western Amber Bucci, Hamilton Southeastern Katie Chinn, Tell City Jamie Carey, Pendleton Heights Heather Cooksey, Brownsburg Jessica Crowder, North Central (Farmersburg) Michelle DelaVina, Wheeler. Stephanie Eilar, Richmond Lyndsey Emerson, Center Grove Darcy Flora, Homestead Jessica Gall, West Lafayette Megan Hardenbrook, Garrett Laura Helhowski, Hebron Winter Holman, Brownstown Central Hilary Ignatoski, Vincennes Lincoln Katie Koellner, South Bend Adams Andrea Kremer, Indianapolis Chatard Crystal Meeks, North Newton Lisa Nicholson, Anderson Highland Katy Pryor, New Castle Alyson Reger, DeKalb Margaret Reyling, Bellmont Amy Rodeghero, Richmond Casey Schneider, North Harrison Natalie Shaffer, New Castle Dayna Smart, Center Grove Monica Spangle, Northridge Crystal Stock, Mount Vernon Morgan Uceny, Plymouth Erin Vagedes, Edgewood Kristin Young, Evansville North