## WESTVIEW'S WILLIAMS RETURNS TO DEFEND TITLE

Defending individual champion Nicole Williams of Westview will lead a field of the state's outstanding high school runners Saturday (Nov. 7) as Indiana University in Bloomington plays host to the 18<sup>th</sup> Annual IHSAA Girls Cross Country Finals.

Four of the top 15 finishers from the 1997 state finals girls race were seniors. All 11 of the remaining top 15 from 1997 qualified at last week's semi-states for a return appearance.

Williams was clocked in 14:23.13 over the 4,000-meter course to win the 1997 race by almost five seconds over Maria Harriman of West Noble. A senior, Williams posted the best girls semi-state time last week, a 13:55 effort in winning the Manchester Semi-State by three seconds over Susan Barth of Bluffton.

The other girls semi-state individual champions were senior Amanda Bell of Clarksville at Terre Haute South in 14:09, senior Dawn Boggs of Columbus East at Franklin Central in 14:11 and sophomore Michelle DelaVina of Wheeler at New Prairie in 14:37.

Also back for another title shot is three-time defending state champion Carmel as part of the 20-team field. The Greyhounds entered semi-state competition co-ranked No. 1 with Westfield and defeated the Shamrocks by a 28point margin in winning the Franklin Central Semi-State title. The other team semi-state champions were Fort Wayne Northrop at Manchester, LaPorte at New Prairie and New Albany at Terre Haute South.

## STATE FINALS

November 7, 1998, 1 p.m.

Indiana University Course, Bloomington

Admission: \$4.

Team Qualifiers: Top five teams from each semi-state site.

Individual Qualifiers: Top 15 individuals from each semi-state site.

## **COMPETING TEAMS**

Bellmont, Carmel, Center Grove, Chesterton, Clarksville, Columbus North, Fort Wayne Northrop, Homestead, LaPorte, Martinsville, Michigan City, New Albany, North Central (Indianapolis), Northeast Dubois, North Harrison, Northridge, Portage, Valparaiso, Westfield, West Noble.

## INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIERS FROM NON-ADVANCING TEAMS

Bridget Akard, Indianapolis Cathedral.

Susan Barth, Bluffton.

Lauren Bectold, Winamac. Dawn Boggs, Columbus East. Amber Bucci, Hamilton Southeastern. Brooke Carr, Madison. Jessica Chaplin, Maconaquah. Jyme Charette, Marion. Katie Chinn, Tell City. Jessica Crowder, North Central (Farmersburg). Mary Dattilo, Madison. Michelle DelaVina, Wheeler. Robyn Detty, Lawrence North. Kara Egan, South Bend St. Joseph's. Crystal Flock, Mount Vernon. Nicole Goodwin, Delta. Megan Hardnbrook, Garrett. Jessica Hein, Carroll (Fort Wayne). Teresa Kamleiter, Waldron. Rachael Kohler, Floyd Central. Andrea Kremer, Indianapolis Chatard,. Stephanie Lynn, South Vermillion. Crystal Meeks, North Newton. Katy Pryor, New Castle. Julie Shields, Brownsburg. Maria Toledo, Merrillville. Cally Thompson, Brownstown Central. Erin Vagedes, Edgewood. Alsion VanDerWeghe, Bloomington South. Molly Widman, Fort Wayne Snider.

Scotti Wilbourne, Zionsville.

