1999 IHSAA BOYS TRACK & FIELD STATE FINALS

June 4, 1999

Carroll Stadium, IUPUI, Indianapolis

Fort Wayne Concordia

runs to first state title

Athletes from Fort Wayne schools won five of the 16 events and Fort Wayne Concordia captured the 1999 IHSAA Boys Track & Field state championship by a four-point margin over Fort Wayne Northrop.

It was the first IHSAA boys track & field state title for the Cadets and the second IHSAA title in school history in any sport. Fort Wayne Concordia's other IHSAA title came in girls cross country in 1983.

Fort Wayne Concordia totaled 42 points, followed by Fort Wayne Northrop with 38, Carroll (Fort Wayne) 32, Evansville Reitz 31 and Carmel 29.5.

Rolando Scott of Fort Wayne Concordia gave the Cadets their only individual title by winning the 100 meters in 10.78. Scott, who finished fifth in the event in 1998, entered the 1999 state finals as the third seed. Senior Contrell Ash, the top seed from Harding, took second in 10.83.

Scott came back to finish fifth in the long jump at 21-11.25 and ran the anchor leg on Fort Wayne Concordia's victorious 400 relay team. The Cadets cruised to the title in 41.39, besting Lawrence North's 41.77 in the same heat.

Brett Tipton of Fort Wayne Northrop repeated as the 1600 meters champion in 4:15.71. The senior was accompanied to the finish line by teammate Nate Peffley in 4:17.25, giving the Bruins 18 points in the event. Sophomore Aaron Fisher of Franklin Central, the 1998 IHSAA cross country state champion, was third in 4:18.71.

The only other repeat state champion was senior Jason Briggs of Richmond in the 800 meters. Briggs clocked in at 1:52.32 to nip Mike Taylor of Portage at 1:52.98.

Senior Scott Starost of Carroll (Fort Wayne), who was seeded seventh coming out of regional competition, posted the upset victory in the discus with a 167-11. Top-seeded Ron Provo, a senior at White River Valley, took second at 166-2.

Bloomington South opened the day with a state-meet record in the 3200 finals. The Panthers clocked a 7:42.64 to win handily over Portage. The former state meet record was 7:48.84 set by Fort Wayne Northrop in 1998. Bloomington South's time also ranks as the second fastest time in state history regardless of the venue.

Phil Yoder of East Noble won the 3200 meters in 9:06.69 and joined his sister, Amy Yoder, as an IHSAA track state champion. Amy Yoder, now competing at the University of Arkansas, was the state champion in the 3200 meters in 1995, 1996 and 1997.

In the 110 high hurdles, David Lewis of Terre Haute South took top honors in 14.23 after entering the state finals as the 10th seed. Shalom Denny of North Central (Indianapolis) was second in 14.52.

John Miles, a senior at Lawrence North, went 6-10 in the high jump to dethrone defending state champion Lamar Johnson of North Central (Indianapolis). Bobby Brooks of McCutcheon also jumped 6-10 but Miles

prevailed with fewer misses. Johnson, a senior, finished third at 6-7.

The long jump winner was senior George Tinnin of South Bend Washington at 23-3.75 with junior Caran Chapman of Fort Wayne North Side second at 22-4.5.

The pole vault title went to sophomore Matt Campbell of White River Valley at 15-3. Campbell won on the basis of fewer misses as Carroll (Fort Wayne) teammates Paul Gensic and Dustin Runkle also cleared 15-3.

Wil Fleming of Bloomington North posted a decisive victory in the shot put. The junior's best effort of 59-4.5 was nearly two feet better than runner-up Rocky Moore, a junior from Union County with a 57-6 best.

Muncie Central's Chris Powers

named Mental Attitude Award recipient

The IHSAA Executive Committee named Chris Powers of Muncie Central High School as the 1999 recipient of the Robert S. Hinshaw Mental Attitude Award for Boys Track & Field. A senior, Powers finished third in 3200 meters in 9:13.33 to cap an outstanding high school athletic career.

Powers ranks 10th in Muncie Central's senior class of 291 students and has been admitted with distinction to the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University. In addition to track and field where he earned four varsity letters, he also was a four-year letterman and four-time MVP in cross country. He has been active in a number of extracurricular activities, including National Honor Society, student council and the school's jazz band where he was the first chair trombonist.

The award is named in honor of the late Mr. Hinshaw, former assistant commissioner of the IHSAA. Farm Bureau Insurance, corporate partner of the IHSAA, presented a \$1,000 check in the name of Powers to Muncie Central High School.

Event champions

100 -- Rolando Scott, Fort Wayne Concordia, 10.78.

200 -- Kevin Harrington, Indianapolis Northwest, 21.85.

400 -- Reginald Cross, Indianapolis Arlington, 47.77.

800 -- Jason Briggs, Richmond, 1:52.32.

1600 -- Brett Tipton, Fort Wayne Northrop, 4:15.71.

3200 -- Phil Yoder, East Noble, 9:06.69.

110 High Hurdles -- David Lewis, Terre Haute South, 14.23.

300 Low Hurdles -- Daniel Martin, Concord, 37.43.

400 Relay -- Fort Wayne Concordia, 41.39.

1600 Relay -- Fort Wayne South Side, 3:17.69.

3200 Relay -- Bloomington South, 7:42.64.

Shot Put -- Wil Fleming, Bloomington North, 59-4.5.

Discus -- Scott Starost, Carroll (Fort Wayne), 167-11.

Long Jump -- George Tinnin, South Bend Washington, 23-3.75.

High Jump -- John Miles, Lawrence North, 6-10.

Pole Vault -- Matt Campbell, White River Valley, 15-3.

Team Scores

Team	Score
Fort Wayne Concordia	42
Fort Wayne Northrop	38
Carroll (Fort Wayne)	32
Evansville Reitz	31
Carmel	29.5
Portage	26.5
Richmond	24
Fort Wayne South Side	23
Franklin Central	
Lawrence Central	22
North Central (Indianapolis)	21
Bloomington North	20
Lawrence North	19
White River Valley	18
Indianapolis Arlington	17
Perry Meridian	16
Bloomington South	15
Harding	
Evansville Harrison	14
Ben Davis	13
Terre Haute South	12.3
Southport	12

Warren Central	11.5
Fort Wayne Wayne	11
South Bend Washington	10.3
Concord	10
East Noble	
Indianapolis Northwest	
Elkhart Central	9
Warsaw	
Carroll (Flora)	8
Fort Wayne North Side	
Huntington North	
McCutcheon	
Union County	
Indianapolis Cathedral	7
Jeffersonville	
Muncie Central	
Noblesville	
Owen Valley	
Bellmont	6
Leo	
Merrillville	
New Palestine	
West Lafayette	
Evansville Central	5
Lafayette Central Catholic	
Lebanon	
Wabash	
Greenfield-Central	4.5

Benton Central	4
Frankfort	
Brebeuf	3
Evansville Bosse	
Goshen	
Indianapolis Broad Ripple	
Knightstown	
Terre Haute North	
Chesterton	2.5
Fort Wayne Dwenger	
Hebron	2
Lafayette Jefferson	1
Center Grove	
Edgewood	
South Bend St. Joseph's	
Mount Vernon	
Hobart	
Gary Roosevelt	
South Bend LaSalle	
Floyd Central	
Crawfordsville	0.33