1998 IHSAA Boys Basketball

Tournament Information

Key Dates

Sectionals: March 3-7.

Regionals: March 13.

Semi-states: March 21.

State finals: March 28.

Tournament of Champions: April 3-4.

Pairings

Will be televised live by the IHSAA Network at 11 a.m. on Sunday, February 22.

Sectionals

64 sites; 16 sites in each of four classes.

Dates

Tuesday, March 3: 7:30 p.m. if one game; 6 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. if two games.

Wednesday, March 4: 7:30 p.m. if one game; 6 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. if two games.

Friday, March 6: Semifinals; games at 6 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 7: Championship game, 7:30 p.m. However, if one of the participating schools has a team involved in a girls basketball semi-state tournament that day, the boys sectional championship game may be moved to 4 p.m.

Format

5-Team fields: Will play one first-round game on Tuesday, two semifinals games on Friday, championship on Saturday. *The team drawing the first-round bye will play the Tuesday night winner in the second semifinals game on Friday.*

6-Team fields: Will play two first-round games on Tuesday, two semifinals on Friday, championship on Saturday. *The two teams drawing the first-round bye will play in the first semifinals game on Friday.*

7-Team fields: Will play one first-round game on Tuesday, two first-round games on Wednesday, two semifinals games on Friday, championship game on Saturday. *The team drawing the first-round bye will play in the first game Friday against the winner of Tuesday's first game.*

Sites

Listed in order by sectional number.

The first eight sectionals in each class are assigned to the northern semi-state.

The second eight sectionals in each class are assigned to the southern semi-state.

Class 4A -- 1. East Chicago Central, 2. Merrillville, 3. Michigan City, 4. Penn, 5. Elkhart Central, 6. East Noble, 7. Marion, 8. Lafayette Jefferson, 9. Noblesville, 10. New Castle, 11. Perry Meridian, 12. Terre Haute North (Hulman Center), 13. Franklin Central, 14. Columbus North, 15. Seymour, 16. Castle.

Class 3A -- 17. Calumet, 18. Twin Lakes, 19. Plymouth, 20. NorthWood, 21. Peru, 22. Bellmont, 23. Muncie Southside (Muncie Fieldhouse), 24. Frankfort, 25. Plainfield, 26. Shelbyville, 27. Franklin, 28. West Vigo, 29. Greensburg, 30. Scottsburg, 31. Washington, 32. Boonville.

Class 2A -- 33. Boone Grove, 34. North Judson, 35. Westview, 36. Garrett, 37. Maconaquah, 38. Cass, 39. South Adams, 40. Alexandria, 41. North Montgomery, 42. Greencastle, 43. Hagerstown, 44. Speedway, 45. Lawrenceburg, 46. Southwestern (Hanover), 47. Paoli, 48. Southridge.

Class A -- 49. Hebron, 50. Triton, 51. Fremont, 52. Southern Wells, 53. Tri-County, 54. Sheridan, 55. Monroe Central, 56. Tri, 57. Attica, 58. White River Valley, 59. Southwestern (Shelbyville), 60. Milan, 61. Orleans, 62. Henryville, 63. North Daviess, 64. Tecumseh.

Tickets

Single session: \$4.

Three-session tournament: \$7.

Four-session tournament: \$9.

Regionals

32 sites; eight sites in each of four classes.

Date

Friday, March 13, 7:30 p.m.

Format

Each site will have one game. The winner advances to semi-state competition. Pairings are pre-determined: i.e. Sectional 1 winner plays Sectional 2 winner; Sectional 3 winner plays Sectional 4 winner, etc.

Sites

Class 4A -- East Chicago Central (Sectional 1 vs. Sectional 2), Michigan City (3 vs. 4), Warsaw (5 vs. 6), Kokomo (7 vs. 8), Anderson (9 vs. 10), Southport (11 vs. 12), Columbus North (13 vs. 14), Jeffersonville (15 vs. 16).

Class 3A -- Kankakee Valley (17 vs. 18), Plymouth (19 vs. 20), Bellmont (21 vs. 22), Muncie Southside at Muncie Fieldhouse (23 vs. 24), Shelbyville (25 vs. 26), Franklin (27 vs. 28), Madison (29 vs. 30), Vincennes Lincoln (31 vs. 32).

Class 2A -- North Judson (33 vs. 34), Garrett (35 vs. 36), Cass (37 vs. 38), Alexandria (39 vs. 40), Greencastle (41 vs. 42), Hagerstown (43 vs. 44), Southwestern (Hanover) (45 vs. 46), Southridge (47 vs. 48).

Class A -- Culver Community (49 vs. 50), Southern Wells (51 vs. 52), Clinton Central (53 vs. 54), Monroe Central (55 vs. 56), White River Valley (57 vs. 58), Southwestern (Shelbyville) (59 vs. 60), Springs Valley (61 vs. 62), Loogootee (63 vs. 64).

Tickets

\$5.

Semi-States

Eight sites -- two in each of four classes -- with four teams at each site.

Date

Saturday, March 21.

Game 1 -- 10:30 a.m.

Game 2 -- 12:30 p.m.

Championship -- 8:05 p.m.

Sites

Northern semi-state in each class is listed first; Southern semi-state is listed second.

Class 4A -- Mackey Arena, West Lafayette, and Assembly Hall, Bloomington.

Class 3A -- University Arena, Muncie, and Roberts Stadium, Evansville.

Class 2A -- Allen County Coliseum, Fort Wayne, and Hinkle Fieldhouse, Indianapolis.

Class A -- Bill Green Arena, Marion, and Hulman Center, Terre Haute.

Format

Each site will have two first-round games and a championship. The semi-state champion advances to the state finals.

Tickets

One session: \$6.

Both sessions: \$9.

State Finals

Eight teams -- two in each of four classes -- advance to the state finals.

Date

Saturday, March 28.

RCA Dome, Indianapolis.

Class A Championship -- 11 a.m.

Class 2A Championship -- 1 p.m.

Class 3A Championship -- 6:30 p.m.

Class 4A Championship -- 8:30 p.m.

Format

Two teams in each class will advance from semi-state competition to play in the state finals.

Tickets

Session (two games) ticket in upper area, not reserved: \$6.

Session (two games) ticket in lower area, reserved: \$8.

Season (four games) ticket, reserved; \$15.

Tournament of Champions

The four class champions will play for the inaugural Tournament of Champions crown.

Pairings will be assigned by blind draw on Feb. 22.

Date

Friday, April 3 and Saturday, April 4.

RCA Dome, Indianapolis.

Game 1 -- April 3, 7 p.m.

Game 2 -- April 3, 8:45 p.m.

Championship -- April 4, 8 p.m.

Format

Two semifinals games will be played April 3. The winners of those games will meet April 4 for the Tournament of Champions title.

Tickets

One session: \$8 reserved seats (lower arena); \$6 not reserved (upper arena).

Both sessions: \$12 reserved seats.