# **DeKalb enters 91st state**

## tournament as lone unbeaten team

When the 91<sup>st</sup> IHSAA 2001 IHSAA Boys Basketball Tournament opens its three-week run Tuesday night across the state, 381 teams will begin the chase for a state title. Only one of those – DeKalb – has the opportunity to complete the 2000-01 season with an unblemished record. The Barons wrapped up state's only unbeaten regular season with a 75-66 triumph last Friday against Fort Wayne Dwenger.

It was the second unbeaten regular season in school history, the other coming in 1978-79 with a 22-0 record.

DeKalb, ranked No. 1 in the Associated Press Class 4A poll and No. 1 in the unified Indiana Basketball Coaches Association poll, opens tournament play Tuesday against Northeast Hoosier Conference rival Carroll (Fort Wayne) in the first game of the Fort Wayne Northrop Sectional. DeKalb scored a 75-50 homecourt victory over Carroll on Feb. 3.

The 64 sectional champions will advance to regional play next Tuesday or Wednesday (March 13-14). The home team for the 32 regional games will be the champion from the odd-numbered sectionals (i.e., the winner of Sectional 1 will host the winner of Sectional 2).

#### RECENT REGULAR-SEASON UNBEATENS

```
1990 -- Concord (20-0), Hebron (21-0), Loogootee (20-0)

1991 -- Fountain Central (20-0), Manchester (20-0), Washington Catholic (20-0).

1992 - None.

1993 - None.

1994 -- Hebron (21-0), Leo (21-0), Valparaiso (20-0).

1995 -- Bedford North Lawrence (20-0), Manchester (20-0).

1996 - None.

1997 - None.

1998 - None.

1999 - None.

2000 -- Bloomington North (20-0).
```

### INDIANA'S BEST 2000-01 BOYS BASKETBALL RECORDS

As compiled by the Bloomington Herald-Times

20-0

DeKalb

# 20-2 Gibson Southern Sullivan 18-2 Bloomington North Bloomington South Crawford County McCutcheon New Albany Penn Plymouth 20-3 New Washington Pike 19-3 Ben Davis 17-3 Bellmont Castle Muncie Southside

20-1

19-1

Cass

Eastern (Bloomfield)

Evansville Mater Dei

New Castle	
North Harrison	
Winchester	
16-3	
Gary West Side	
ACTIVE SECTIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP STREAKS	
5 LaPorte.	
4 Boone Grove, Winchester.	
3 Andrean, Blue River Valley, Boone Grove, Lafayette Central Catholic, Maconaquah, Monrovia, Paoli, Sull	ivan.
ALL-TIME SECTIONAL STREAKS	
29 Lafayette Jefferson (1944-72).	
24 Michigan City Elston (1952-75).	
22 Franklin (1918-39).	
20 Vincennes Lincoln (1921-40).	
17 Rushville (1925-41).	
	16 Muncie Central (1923-38), Muncie Central (1948-63), Connersville (1922-37).
SECTIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP LEADERS	
(Year of last title)	
67 Kokomo (1998), Vincennes Lincoln (1997).	
64 Lafayette Jefferson (2000).	
63 Marion (2000).	
62 Richmond (1996).	

- 57 -- Connersville (1997).
- 56 -- Logansport (1996).
- 54 -- New Castle (2000).
- 50 -- Columbus North/Columbus (1997); Muncie Central (1994).
- 49 -- Anderson (1998).
- 46 -- Frankfort (1997).
- 45 -- Franklin (1999).

44 --Rushville (1993), Seymour (1992), Valparaiso (1997).

40 -- Michigan City Elston (1995), New Albany (1997).

# Colclasure regains lead in state scoring race

Spurred by a school-record 47-point outburst Feb. 27, Bellmont's Seth Colclasure has regained the state scoring lead from Brandon McKnight of South Bend LaSalle.

Colclasure hit 19 of 28 field shots with five three-pointers as Bellmont defeated Fort Wayne Northrop 77-60. The junior guard came back with 22 points March 2 as the Braves (17-3) defeated Fort Wayne South Side 66-56.

In his final regular-season outing on Feb. 27, McKnight scored 19 points and became the school's season (581) and career (1,381) scoring leader as South Bend LaSalle (12-8) rallied to top South Bend St. Joseph's 56-49.

#### 2000-01 SCORING LEADERS

As reported to the IHSAA

Through games of March 3, 2001

Player	School	Class	Grade	Games	High	Total	Avg.
Seth Colclasure	Bellmont	3A	Junior	20	47	591	29.5
Brandon McKnight	South Bend LaSalle	4A	Senior	20	41	581	29.0
Derrick Graham	South Bend Washington	4A	Junior	20	37	513	25.6
Cris Brunson	Evansville Reitz	4A	Senior	20	37	507	25.3
Tyson Martin	South Spencer	2A	Senior	22	35	556	25.2
Sylvester Mayes	South Bend Clay	4A	Soph.	18	44	449	24.9

Brandon Gabbard	South Dearborn	3A	Senior	17	39	422	24.8
Anthony Winchester	Austin	2A	Junior	20	39	494	24.7
Cody New	Tippecanoe Valley	3A	Senior	20	35	492	24.6
Ty Crone	Eminence	A	Junior	18	33	440	24.4
J. R. Angle	Indian Creek	2A	Fr.	19	43	460	24.2
Sean May	Bloomington North	4A	Junior	17	40	412	24.2
Justin Chittick	Rossville	A	Junior	17	39	408	24.0
Eric Walsh	Caston	A	Junior	20	40	480	24.0
Josh Smith	Attica	A	Senior	20	45	476	23.8
Austin Brooks	Evansville Day	A	Senior	22	31	520	23.6
Craig Schoen	South Central (Elizabeth)	A	Junior	20	38	469	23.4
Jared Reeves	Brownsburg	4A	Junior	19	41	444	23.3
Chris Thomas	Pike	4A	Senior	23	35	538	23.3
Evan Seacat	Paoli	2A	Junior	23	50	535	23.2
Todd Schaefer	Wheeler	2A	Soph.	18	33	414	23.0
Kyle Cox	Blue River Valley	A	Junior	20	33	456	22.8
Levi Carmichael	Eastern (Bloomfield)	2A	Senior	21	38	477	22.7
Tyler Clevenger	Winchester	2A	Junior	20	35	451	22.5
Blake Schoen	Benton Central	3A	Junior	21	31	472	22.4
Daniel Trabant	North Knox	2A	Senior	21	40	471	22.4

# 2000-01 INDIVIDUAL SEASON BESTS

## **SCORING**

**52** 

Minuyard Wheeler, Gary Wirt vs. Chicago Hyde Park, Feb. 13.

**50** 

Evan Seacat, Paoli vs. Springs Valley, Dec. 27.

Seth Colclasure, Bellmont vs. Fort Wayne Northrop, Feb. 27.

#### 45

Tony Bollier, Leo vs. Churubusco, Dec. 22.

John Jamerson, Muncie Burris vs. Monroe Central, Jan. 26.

Aaron Rosenfeld, Morgan Township vs. Oregon-Davis, Feb. 15.

Josh Smith, Attica vs. Covington, Dec. 23.

#### 44

Pat Jessup, Lakewood Park Christian vs. Clinton Christian, Dec. 8.

Sylvester Mayes, South Bend Clay vs. LaPorte, Feb. 23.

Brandon Richardson, Gary Wallace vs. Hammond, Jan. 23.

#### REBOUNDING

#### 27

Robert Haney, Indiana School for the Deaf vs. New Creations, Feb. 6.

## 25

Brandon Chambers, Union (Dugger) vs. Eminence, Dec. 2.

Kenneth Lampley, Gary Roosevelt vs. Andrean, Nov. 20.

## 23

Eric Brewer, Charlestown vs. Henryville, Dec. 5.

Trai Essex, Harding vs. Fort Wayne Elmhurst, Dec. 9.

Kenneth Lampley, Gary Roosevelt vs. Gary West Side, Nov. 24.

#### 22

Marcus Hall, Oak Hill vs. Peru, Jan. 30.

Sean May, Bloomington North vs. Perry Meridian, Jan. 20.

#### THREE-POINTERS

Dedrick Finn, Castle vs. Evansville Memorial, March 2.

Josh Weimer, Lakeland vs. Churubusco, Feb. 2.

## **10**

Anthony Baxter, Indianapolis Broad Ripple vs. Lawrence North, Jan. 26.

# 9

Tony Bollier, Leo vs. Churubusco, Dec. 22.

Bryan Dixon, Portage vs. Boone Grove, Jan. 13.

Kyle Roe, Hamilton Southeastern vs. Park Tudor, Jan. 23.

Nick Scott, Danville vs. Zionsville, Feb. 3.

Martell Taylor, South Bend Riley vs. Michigan City, Feb. 28.