IHSAA NEWS RELEASE

Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. 9150 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, Indiana 46260 • 317-846-6601 • IHSAA.org • IHSAAtv.org • @IHSAAI



September 23, 2024

Pairings announced for Unified Flag Football Tournament

The Indiana High School Athletic Association announced the pairings for the Seventh Annual Unified Flag Football State Tournament Series this evening via livestream at IHSAAtv.org.

Forty-four (44) teams - the same as 2023 - have entered this year's state tournament and are

spread across eight sectionals to be played on Saturday, Oct. 5. The eight teams that emerge as sectional champions will move on to one of two regionals on Saturday, Oct. 12 with the two remaining teams advancing to the state championship game on Saturday, Oct. 19 at the Grand Park Sports Event Center in Westfield.

The state championship game will be streamed live on <u>IHSAAtv.org</u>. Last year's state championship game between Carmel and DeKalb is available to <u>watch here</u>.

Last year's state champion, the Carmel Greyhounds, will play county rival Hamilton Heights in Sectional 5 at Lawrence Central while 2023 state runner-up, the



DeKalb Barons will face Goshen in its first round game in Sectional 2 played at NorthWood.

Unified Sports enables persons with and without intellectual disabilities to participate on the same team for sports training and competition as part of the "Champions Together" partnership between the IHSAA and Special Olympics Indiana.

Unified Flag Football, which began in 2018, is one of 24 sports sponsored by the IHSAA and one of two co-ed sports along with Unified Track & Field which debuted in 2014.

About the Draw

To conduct the random drawing for the Unified Flag Football State Tournament, the IHSAA places ping-pong balls representing each school in each sectional into a lottery-style air mix machine. A motorized fan in the bottom of the machine blows the balls around the inside of the transparent container and air then forces each ball up through a tube in random order. For example, the first ball retrieved from the machine will be the visiting team in game one with the second ball representing the home team in game one. The third ball to come out is the visitor in game two and the fourth ball the home team in game two. That same method is followed through all eight sectionals.



Date: Saturday, Oct. 5, 2024. Admission: \$5 per person. Children age 5 and younger admitted free.

1. Valparaiso (4)

G1: Griffith vs. Valparaiso. G2: East Chicago Central vs. South Bend Adams. Championship: G1 winner vs. G2 winner.

2. NorthWood (6)

G1: Wawasee vs. NorthWood.G2: Goshen vs. DeKalb.G3: East Noble vs. G1 winner.G4: Elkhart vs. G2 winner.Championship: G3 winner vs. G4 winner.

3. Warsaw Community (7)

G1: Carroll (Fort Wayne) vs. Tippecanoe Valley.
G2: Manchester vs. Fort Wayne North Side.
G3: Homestead vs. Warsaw Community.
G4: New Haven vs. G1 winner.
G5: G2 winner vs. G3 winner.
Championship: G4 winner vs. G5 winner.

4. McCutcheon (4)

G1: Twin Lakes vs. McCutcheon.G2: Blackford vs. Zionsville.Championship: G1 winner vs. G2 winner.

5. Lawrence Central (8)

G1: Fishers vs. Hamilton Southeastern.
G2: Warren Central vs. Noblesville.
G3: Hamilton Heights vs. Carmel.
G4: Lawrence Central vs. Westfield.
G5: G1 winner vs. G2 winner.
G6: G3 winner vs. G4 winner.
Championship: G5 winner vs. G6 winner.

6. Brownsburg (6)

G1: Ben Davis vs. Southport.
G2: Indianapolis George Washington vs. Indianapolis Arsenal Technical.
G3: Perry Meridian vs. G1 winner.
G4: Brownsburg vs. G2 winner.
Championship: G3 winner vs. G4 winner.

7. Mooresville (5)

G1: Greenwood Community vs. Mooresville.G2: Franklin Central vs. Franklin Community.G3: Whiteland Community vs. G1 winner.Championship: G2 winner vs. G3 winner.

8. Bedford North Lawrence (4)

G1: Jasper vs. Indian Creek. G2: Bedford North Lawrence vs. Floyd Central. Championship: G1 winner vs. G2 winner.

<u>Regionals</u>

Date: Saturday, Oct. 12, 2024. Admission: \$5 per person. Children age 5 and younger admitted free.

Home Team: The second-named team will be the designated home team in each game.

Regional 1 at TBA (one of competing teams)

G1: NorthWood winner vs. Valparaiso winner. G2: Warsaw Community winner vs. McCutcheon winner.

Championship: G1 winner vs. G2 winner.

Regional 2 at Mooresville

G1: Mooresville winner vs. Bedford North Lawrence winner.G2: Brownsburg winner vs. Lawrence Central winner.Championship: G1 winner vs. G2 winner.

<u>State Finals</u>

Date: Saturday, Oct. 19, 2024. Time: 1 pm ET / 12 pm CT. Site: Grand Park Sports Event Center, 19000 Grand Park Blvd., Westfield, IN Admission: \$15 per person. Children age 5 and younger admitted free.



Previous State Championship Results

Year	Champion	Coach(es)	Runner-Up	Coach(es)	Score		
Indiana Farm Bureau Football Center, Indianapolis							
2018-19	9 Bedford North Lawrence	Mike Branam	Tippecanoe Valley	Jeff Shriver, Brandon Kresca Kris Walker	, 50-26		
Grand Park Sports Event Center, Westfield							
2019-20) Mooresville	Tina Taylor, Brandon Lewin, Jacquie Ingle	McCutcheon	Cory Rush, Gina Bunch, Brianna Accinelli	60-44		
2020-21	1 McCutcheon	Cory Rush, Gina Bunch, Patrick Muldoon	Carroll (Fort Wayne)	Alan Bodenstein	44-34		
2021-22	2 DeKalb	Ryan Baker, Carol Fike-Baker	Franklin Central	Erik Godsey	45-42		
2022-23	3 Brownsburg	Kayle Comer	DeKalb	Ryan Baker, Carol Fike-Bake	r 28-18		
2023-24	4 Carmel	Jamie Stephen	DeKalb	Ryan Baker, Carol Fike-Bake	r 68-45		

Sectional Championships No. School

No.	School	Years
6	Bedford North Lawrence	2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023
5	Carroll (Fort Wayne)	2018, 2019, 2020, 2022, 2023
5	McCutcheon	2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023
4	Carmel	2020, 2021, 2022, 2023
4	Valparaiso	2019, 2020, 2021, 2022
3	DeKalb	2021, 2022, 2023
3	Franklin Central	2019, 2021, 2023
3	Tippecanoe Valley	2018, 2019, 2021
2	Brownsburg	2021, 2022
2	Mooresville	2019, 2020
2	Noblesville	2018, 2019
1	Ben Davis	2018
1	Franklin Community	2022
1	Griffith	2018
1	Jasper	2018
1	Manchester	2020
1	South Bend Adams	2023
1	Southport	2023
1	Wawasee	2020
1	Zionsville	2018

Regional Championships

No.	School	Years
3	DeKalb	2021, 2022, 2023
2	McCutcheon	2019, 2020
1	Bedford North Lawrence	2018
1	Ben Davis	2018
1	Brownsburg	2022
1	Carmel	2023
1	Carroll (Fort Wayne)	2020
1	Franklin Central	2021
1	Mooresville	2019
1	Noblesville	2018
1	Tippecanoe Valley	2018

About Special Olympics Indiana, Inc. (SOIN)

Special Olympics Indiana is a not-for-profit organization that provides year-round sports more than 11,000 athletes across Indiana. The organization receives no federal- or state-appropriated funds, is not a United Way agency and relies entirely on corporate, civic and individual donations. For more information about Special Olympics Indiana, call (317) 328-2000 or visit www.soindiana.org.

About the Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. (IHSAA)

The IHSAA is a voluntary, not-for-profit organization that is self-supporting without the use of tax monies. Since its founding in 1903, the Association's mission has been to provide wholesome, educational athletics for the secondary schools of Indiana. Its 409-member high schools - public, institutional, parochial, and private – pay no annual membership fee or incur entry fees to play in the Association's tournaments. A state tournament series is conducted annually in 24 sports, 11 for girls, 11 for boys and two co-eds (unified flag football, unified track and field). A 19-person board of directors, elected by member school principals, governs the organization.