The 28th Annual Singles State Tournament | The 18th Annual Doubles State Tournament

October 20, 2007

THIRD TIME IS A CHARM FOR SOUTH SIDE S CARPENTER, UNBEATEN CENTER GROVE NOTCHES DOUBLES TITLE

On a beautiful, Indian summer day, with temperatures in mid 70 s, Fort Wayne South Sides Derek Carpenter and the undefeated Center Grove doubles tandem of Matt Smith and Zane Smith notched state championships in the IHSAA Individual Tennis State Finals at Park Tudor School in Indianapolis.

The third time was most definitely a charm for Fort Wayne South Side Derek Carpenter. After being defeated in the state semifinals the previous two years, the scrappy Carpenter rallied after losing the first set to defeat Lawrence Central South Albertin, 5-7, 6-2, 6-2, for the singles championship. The senior finished the season with a record of 25-2, including 9-0 in the post season, to become the first player from Fort Wayne South Side to earn a state singles title.

Carpenter defeated South Bend Adams Omar Turk in the morning semifinals, 6-0, 6-2, while Albertin disposed of Evansville Memorial Semi Ben Carroll, 6-2, 6-1. Albertin, a junior, finished the season with a record of 20-5.

In doubles, seniors Matt Smith and Zane Smith captured their second doubles state championship (other coming in 2005-06) with a 6-1, 7-5, victory over Delta so Dan Klingenberg and Jeff Price. The Center Grove duo finished with a perfect 27-0 season record. Klingenberg and Price were dealt their first loss of the year finishing 29-1.

In the Saturday morning doubles semifinals, Smith and Smith cruised to a 6-1, 6-4, victory over Bloomington South sean Os Connell and Kevin Zhang to earn a spot in the finals. The tandem of Klingenberg and Price defeated Jaspers Tanner Niehaus and Pete Wilson, 6-4, 6-1, to earn the other spot in the championship match.

State Finals

Date: October 19-20, 2007.

Times: Friday quarterfinals at 2 pm; Saturday semifinals at 10 am; Saturday championship and consolation matches at 2 pm.

Site: Park Tudor School, 7200 N. College Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46240 | School Website | Driving Directions

Singles

Note: Each individual ses regular season record is listed first followed by their post-season tournament record.

Semifinals, Sat, 10 am ET

Derek Carpenter (12) Fort Wayne South Side (16-2, 8-0) def. Omar Turk (10) South Bend Adams (11-1, 4-1), 6-0, 6-2 Dalton Albertin (11) Lawrence Central (13-4, 7-0) def. Ben Carroll (12) Evansville Memorial (19-1, 7-1), 6-2, 6-1

Championship Match, 2 pm ET

Derek Carpenter (12) Fort Wayne South Side (16-2, 9-0) def. Dalton Albertin (11) Lawrence Central (13-4, 7-1), 5-7, 6-2, 6-2

Consolation Match, 2 pm ET

Ben Carroll (12) Evansville Memorial (19-1, 8-1) def. Omar Turk (10) South Bend Adams (11-1, 4-2) 6-2, 6-4

Doubles

Note: Each team so regular season record is listed first followed by its post-season tournament record.

Quarterfinals, Fri, 2 pm ET

Matt Smith (12) | Zane Smith (12) Center Grove (17-0, 8-0) def. Charlie Hurst (10) | Adam Katz (12) Brebeuf Jesuit (18-2, 5-1), 5-7, 7-6 (7-3), 6-2.

Sean O� Connell (11) | Kevin Zhang (12) **Bloomington South** (17-3, 9-0) def. Pat Behrens (12) | Austin Wynn (11) **Munster** (7-3, 6-1), **2-6, 6-3, 6-3**.

Dan Klingenberg (12) | Jeff Price (12) **Delta** (21-0, 7-0) def. David Cable (12) | Bryant Wiley (12) **Manchester** (17-1, 7-1), **6-2, 6-2**. Tanner Niehaus (11) | Pete Wilson (12) **Jasper** (15-4, 7-0) def. Geoff Bach (12) | Phil Kubisz (10) **Highland** (10-0, 6-1), **6-0, 6-4**.

Semifinals, Sat, 10 am ET

Matt Smith (12) | Zane Smith (12) Center Grove (17-0, 9-0) def. Sean O Connell (11) | Kevin Zhang (12) Bloomington South (17-3, 9-1), 6-1, 6-4.

Dan Klingenberg (12) | Jeff Price (12) Delta (21-0, 8-0) def. Tanner Niehaus (11) | Pete Wilson (12) Jasper (15-4, 7-1), 6-4, 6-1.



Čhampionship Match, 2 pm ET

Matt Smith (12) | Zane Smith (12) Center Grove (17-0, 10-0) def. Dan Klingenberg (12) | Jeff Price (12) Delta (21-0, 8-1), 6-1, 7-5.

Consolation Match 2 pm ET

Sean O�Connell (11) | Kevin Zhang (12) **Bloomington South** (17-3, 10-1) def. Tanner Niehaus (11) | Pete Wilson (12) **Jasper** (15-4, 7-2), **7-6, 3-6, 7-6**