New girls champion will be crowned in 2000 IHSAA State Finals

A strong field of runners will answer the opening gun at 1 p.m. Saturday (Nov. 4) in 2000 IHSAA Girls Cross Country State Finals on the Indiana University Course at Bloomington.

This is the fourth year the state meets have been conducted on the I.U. course, located on the east side of the Bloomington campus near the intersection of state roads 46 and 45.

A new state champion will be crowned in the 4,000-meter competition as 1999 state champion Michelle Dela Vina of Wheeler is not in the field. Dela Vina did not compete this season after taking third place in 1998 and then winning the IHSAA title as a junior in 1999.

The field of athletes vying to succeed her includes eight runners who finished in the top 15 at the 1999 state meet. That group includes 1999 runner-up Robyn Detty of Lawrence North and fourth-place finisher Winter Holman of Brownstown Central. Holman also is the reigning IHSAA Track and Field state champion at 1,600 meters.

The other returning top 15 finishers from 1999 are sophomore Tiffany Redlarczyk (sixth in 1999) of Lake Central, senior Jill Scully (seventh) of Valparaiso, junior Lindsay Hattendorf (eighth) of Chesterton, junior Jessica Gall (ninth) of West Lafayette), junior Megan Rainville (10th) of Floyd Central, and junior Natalie Karas (12th) of Valparaiso.

In last week's semi-state competition, Holman (14:31.22) was the winner at Terre Haute and Gall (14:19) took top honors at New Prairie. The other semi-state champions were senior Natalie Ewing (14:09) of Northridge at Manchester and Sarah Huddleston (14:04.30) of Carmel at Franklin Central.

Team semi-state champions were top-ranked Carmel at Franklin Central, No. 3-ranked Valparaiso at New Prairie, No. 4-ranked Fort Wayne Northrop at Manchester, and No. 8-ranked Bloomington South at Terre Haute.

2000 CROSS COUNTRY STATE FINALS

November 4, 2000

Indiana University Course, Bloomington

Girls Race: 1 p.m.

Boys Race: 1:30 p.m.

Team Qualifiers: Top five teams from each semi-state site.

Individual Qualifiers: Top 15 individuals from each semi-state site and those from qualifying teams.

Tickets: \$5.

Media Credentials: The 2000-01 IHSAA State Finals Media Pass will be honored.

Media Work Area

Located in the University Gym (at the former University High School now known as the Stone Belt Center) at the intersection of Ind. 46/45 and East 10^{th} Street on the eastside of the I.U. campus. This is the same facility used the past three years. State finals programs can be obtained in a classroom that will serve as the media work

area. Enter through the red, double doors on the southeast side of the building and follow the signs to the work area. This area will have a phone for filing purposes. Jason Wille, coordinator of IHSAA publications, will serve as the media host.

Media PARKING

Access to the parking lot at the Stone Belt Center can be gained by displaying the 2000-01 IHSAA Media Pass to the parking attendants.

COMPETING GIRLS TEAMS

Avon, Bellmont, Bloomington North, Bloomington South, Carmel, Chesterton, Columbus North, DeKalb, Floyd Central, Fort Wayne Northrop, Franklin Central, Homestead, Lawrence North, Martinsville, Michigan City, New Albany, New Prairie, Northridge, South Bend St. Joseph's, Valparaiso.

GIRLS QUALIFYING FROM NON-ADVANCING TEAMS

Lauren Bader, Mount Vernon.

Christan Bahler, Western.

Caitlin Baird, Yorktown.

Leslie Carden, Cass.

Brooke Carr, Madison.

Winter Holman, Brownstown Central.

Kathleen Doehla, Fort Wayne Concordia.

Stephanie Eilar, Richmond.

Jennifer Finch, Warsaw.

Jennifer Furge, Angola.

Jessica Gall, West Lafayette.

Megan Hardenbrook, Garrett.

Hilary Ignatoski, Vincennes Lincoln.

Sarah Jarvis, North Central (Indianapolis).

Nikki Jasperson, Fort Wayne Luers.

Nicole Jones, Bedford North Lawrence.

Laura Lash, Tippecanoe Valley.

Rose Lehe, Tri-County.

Katy Pryor, New Castle.

Katy Quirk, Evansville Memorial.

Kristina Ramos, Frankfort.

Amy Rodeghero, Richmond.

Tiffany Redlarczyk, Lake Central.

Gina Sitzman, Tell City.

Lauren Snell, Hamilton Southeastern.

Heather Stembridge, Evansville Central.

Natalie Shaffer, New Castle.

Casey Schneider, North Harrison.