NFHS Spirit of Sport Award

The NFHS “National High School Spirit of Sport Award,” seeks to recognize individuals who exemplify the ideals of the positive spirit of sport that represent the core mission of education-based athletics. The award may be given in recognition of a specific act or for an activity of longer duration.

The award can be given to an individual who has gone beyond the normal everyday expectations of assisting others within the school or community. It could also be given to an individual who has overcome some sort of adversity or challenging circumstances.  The recipient can be a coach, athletic administrator, administrator, trainer, student-athlete or any others associated with the school or the school’s athletic program.

In the instance of a student, that student must be in good academic standing within his or her respective high school. Among the qualifying criteria that will be used are the student’s grade-point average, the activities in which he or she is involved, and community involvement. Candidates should also possess similar positive character traits, such as a high level of integrity and ethics.

The NFHS divides the nation into eight geographical sections. The states in Section 4 are Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Wisconsin.

Nominations for this award are generated through NFHS member state associations and reviewed by the NFHS Spirit of Sport Award Selection Committee composed of state association staff members.

The following have been nominated as Indiana's representatives for the National High School Spirit of Sport Award:

2014-15 Lucas Vervynckt, Plymouth HS 
2013-14  Virgil Ferguson, North Posey HS
2012-13  Noah James, Boonville HS 
2011-12  Alysia Bennett, Sullivan HS
2010-11  Whitko and Rochester girls basketball teams 
2009-10  Allison Hostetler, Fairfield HS
2008-09  Columbia City girls soccer team 

The following nominations were received by the IHSAA for the 2014-15 Spirit of Sport Award.

Allison Smitherman Anderson HS
Abby Abel Carmel HS
Debb Stevens Caston HS
Ken Kaufman Indianapolis Cathedral HS
Lauren Rau Center Grove HS
Pat Rady Cloverdale HS
J. Allan Clark Culver Academies
East Noble Wrestling Team East Noble HS
Brieana Linton Elkhart Chritian Academy
Jim Lambert Fort Wayne Wayne HS
Matthew Labus Guerin Catholic HS
Doug Keen Guerin Catholic HS
Sue Ann Mathewson Hammond HS
Tyler Weller New Prairie HS
Lucas Vervynckt Plymouth HS
Katrin Hybarger Sheridan HS
Casey Garner Sullivan HS
Camille Kerlin Warsaw Community HS
Jonathan Nugent Washington Township HS
Kaylee McCracken Whiteland Community HS