2011-12 State Finals Recap

February 11, 2012

Carmel Celebrates 26th Straight Team Title, Wawasee’s Robinson Sets New State Record
Brittany Robinson of Wawasee set a new state record in the 100 butterfly, Chesterton's Olivia Kabacinski won two events and the Carmel girls won their 26th straight team title during the IHSAA Girls Swimming & Diving State Finals in Indianapolis.

Coached by Chris Plumb for the sixth year, Carmel’s streak is the longest active run in the country in any sport and tied for the third longest in high school sports history. Punahou (HI) High School’s 29 straight in boys swimming from 1958-86 is the national standard.

The Greyhounds amassed 329 points behind two individual state champions and two winning relays and were followed by runner-up Zionsville with 168, its highest finish ever at the girls state meet. Penn placed third with 137 followed by Center Grove with 136 and Chesterton with 133.

Robinson’s state record performance in the 100 butterfly was the lone mark to fall at this year’s event and her time of :53.41 bettered the previous record of :53.91 set by Jenny Connolly of Harrison (West Lafayette) in 2008. Robinson became the first female swimmer from her school to win a state championship.

Kabacinski swept the 50 and 100 freestyle events touching first in the 50 freestyle in 23.06 and taking the 100 in 49.94. It was her third state championship in three years to go along with her 200 free win in 2010.

Zionsville senior Zoe Mattingly won a pair of titles taking the 200 freestyle in 1:49.53 and then anchored the Eagles winning 200 free relay in 1:34.63. She teamed with Alex Cleveland, Grace Einterz and Lizzie Lyon to win the school’s first relay state championship. Mattingly finished as the runner-up in the 100 freestyle to Kabacinski after winning the race a year ago.

Emma Schoettmer of Center Grove won her second 100 breaststroke in three years finishing in 1:00.50.

Margaret Ramsey and Alexis Bullard, both of Carmel, won the 500 freestyle (4:51.43) and 100 backstroke (:54.43), respectively.

Penn sophomore Bethany Galat was the lone underclassman to win an individual title taking honors in the 200 individual medley in 2:00.38.

Shelby Bartlett of Fishers won the diving crown with 458.88 points.

The 38th Annual IHSAA Girls Swimming & Diving State Finals
Indiana University Natatorium, IUPUI, Indianapolis
February 10-11, 2012

Top 10 Teams

1. Carmel 329
2. Zionsville 168
3. Penn 137
4. Center Grove 136
5. Chesterton 133
6. Homestead 132
7. Mount Vernon 124
8. Columbus North 119
9. Munster 110
10. Crown Point 103.5

State Champions

200 Medley Relay – Carmel (Lacey Locke 11, Lucy Kramer 12, Hanna House 10, Ariana Bullard 11) 1:43.32.
200 Freestyle – Zoe Mattingly, 12, Zionsville, 1:49.53.
200 Individual Medley – Bethany Galat, 10, Penn, 2:00.38.
50 Freestyle – Olivia Kabacinski, 12, Chesterton, 23.06.
One Meter Diving – Shelby Bartlett, 12, Fishers, 458.55 points.
100 Butterfly – Brittany Robinson, 12, Wawasee, :53.41. State Record
100 Freestyle – Olivia Kabacinski, 12, Chesterton, :49.94.
500 Freestyle – Margaret Ramsey, 12, Carmel, 4:51.43.
200 Freestyle Relay – Zionsville (Alex Cleveland 10, Grace Einterz 11, Lizzie Lyon 12, Zoe Mattingly 12) 1:34.63.
100 Backstroke – Alexis Bullard, 12, Carmel, :54.43.
100 Breaststroke – Emma Schoettmer, 12, Center Grove, 1:00.50.
400 Freestyle Relay – Carmel (Margaret Ramsey 12, Hanna House 10, Alexis Bullard 12, Lacey Locke 11), 3:25.87.  

State Championship Record Streaks

Longest streaks of consecutive state championships, all sports, all states
29: Honolulu Punahou, Hawaii, boys swimming, 1958-86.
27: Pickford, Mich., boys track and field, 1952-78.
26: Carmel, Ind., girls swimming, 1986-2011.*
26: Woonsocket Mt. St. Charles Academy, R.I., boys hockey, 1978-2003.
*Active streak.
(Source: National Federation of State High School Associations)  

Franklin’s Abby Smith Wins Mental Attitude Award
Franklin Community High School’s Abby Smith was recognized following the state championship meet by the IHSAA Executive Committee as this year’s winner of the mental attitude award.

The award is presented annually to a senior, nominated by her principal and coach, who demonstrates excellence in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability.

Smith finished third in the 50 freestyle at the state meet this year and was an eighth place finisher a year ago.

Ranked first in her senior class, Smith is headed to the University of Evansville where she received an athletic scholarship. She’ll study Chemistry.

She is the daughter of Greg and Lynn Smith of Franklin.

Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, IHSAA corporate partner, presented Franklin Community High School with a $1,000 scholarship in the name of Smith.

VSN Means Action Photography
Visit our friends at Visual Sports Network, the IHSAA’s official photographer for all state championship events and one of the leading action photographers in the Midwest. VSN, which was on site on Saturday, has captured hundreds of images from this year’s State Finals and will have them ready for viewing and purchase beginning Monday.