2009-10 State Finals Recap

February 27, 2010

Winning one individual championship and a relay, Carmel claimed the team title in the 73rd Annual IHSAA Boys Swimming & Diving State Finals at the Indiana University Natatorium in Indianapolis.

Carmel finished with 245 points with Munster the runner-up at 217 and two-time defending champ Chesterton finishing third at 153.

It was the Greyhounds first team title since 2004 and a state-leading 12th overall. It was the first title on the boys side for Carmel coach Chris Plumb who’s led the school’s girls team to its last four crowns.

Junior Matt Gerth won the 200 freestyle in 1:40.08 and the 400 free relay team put an exclamation point on the team title winning the last event of the meet. Nik Astashinsky, Jonathan Astashinsky, Charles Williams and Gerth combined to win in 3:06.56.

The talk of the meet, however, was the performance turned in by Chesterton senior Kyle Whitaker, arguably the best swimmer the state has ever seen.

Whitaker won two individual events and a relay on Saturday setting a national record, a state record on time for the second day in a row, a career state record and tied another career mark.

In winning an unprecedented fourth straight state championship in the 200 individual medley, Whitaker broke his own national high school record of a year ago finishing in 1:44.55. His previous best of 1:45.25 had come in the championship final of last year’s state meet. He swam 1:48.10 in Friday’s prelims.

He also carried home his first title in the 500 freestyle setting the state record on back-to-back nights. Whitaker clocked home in 4:19.79 bettering his Friday prelim time of 4:21.55.

Whitaker also anchored the Trojans winning 200 freestyle relay following teammates Matt Roseicki, Tyler Fozkos and Taylor Zakhar into the pool. The foursome touched in 1:24.39 giving Chesterton the event for the second time in three years.

In pocketing the two individual titles, he became the state leader with eight surpassing Carmel’s Jason Lancaster’s seven wins from 1991 to 1994. Whitaker won all four years in the 200 individual medley, three 100 butterfly wins and the 500 freestyle. His fourth relay crown today brought his total to 12 overall state titles tying him with Lancaster for the most in state history.

Junior teammate Tyler Fozkos joined him on top of the awards podium repeating as the 50 freestyle champion. Fozkos finished the sprint in 20.84.

Hamilton Southeastern senior Nathan Kinney won the 100 freestyle for the second year in a row in 45.51 but came up short in his attempt to repeat in the 100 backstroke taking third.

Munster junior Kevin Behrens won that event and joined Whitaker in winning three blue ribbon medals on the day. He won the backstroke in 49.51, grabbed the 100 butterfly in 48.46 and also was the third leg of the Mustangs’ 200 medley relay champion which also included Dillon Thompson, Joe Wulf, and Patrick Raycroft (1:33.30).

In the one meter diving competition, Bloomington South went 1-2 with Darian Schmidt winning with 532.40 points followed by Danton Rogers with 521.25. Rogers was also a part of the Panthers’ third place 200 free relay squad.

Seymour’s Kameron Chastain capped his senior year with the 100 breaststroke win in 55.41.

This year’s attendance drew a state finals record 5,433 topping the 1998 mark of 5,332.

The 73rd Annual IHSAA Boys Swimming & Diving State Finals
Indiana University Natatorium, IUPUI, Indianapolis
February 26-27, 2010

Top 10 Teams

1. Carmel 245
2. Munster 217
3. Chesterton 153
4. Hamilton Southeastern 138
5. Fishers 126
6. Bloomington South 102
7. North Central (Indianapolis) 90
8. Seymour 84
9. Northridge 82
10. Homestead 76

State Champions

200 Medley Relay – Munster (Dillon Thompson 11, Joe Wulf 12, Kevin Behrens 11, Patrick Raycroft 12), 1:33.30.
200 Freestyle – Matt Gerth, 11, Carmel, 1:40.08.
200 Individual Medley Kyle Whitaker, 12, Chesterton, 1:44.55. National Record.
50 Freestyle – Tyler Fozkos, 11, Chesterton, 20.84.
One Meter Diving – Darian Schmidt, 12, Bloomington South, 532.40 points.
100 Butterfly Kevin Behrens, 11, Munster, 48.46.
100 Freestyle – Nathan Kinney, 12, Hamilton Southeastern, 45.51.
500 Freestyle – Kyle Whitaker, 12, Chesterton, 4:19.79. State Meet Record.
200 Freestyle Relay – Chesterton (Matt Roseicki 12, Tyler Fozkos 11, Taylor Zakhar 12, Kyle Whitaker 12) 1:24.39
100 Backstroke Kevin Behrens, 11, Munster, 49.51.
100 Breaststroke Kameron Chastain, 12, Seymour, 55.41.
400 Freestyle Relay – Carmel (Nik Astashinsky 12, Jonathan Astashinsky 9, Charles Williams 12, Matt Gerth 11) 3:06.56.

Following the meet, members of the IHSAA Executive Committee selected Kyle Whitaker of Chesterton High School as this year’s winner of the Herman F. Keller Mental Attitude Award in boys swimming and diving.

The award, named in honor of the former IHSAA assistant commissioner, is presented annually to a senior, nominated by his principal and coach, who demonstrates excellence in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability.

The Chesterton senior made history this weekend after winning a record eighth individual title, bringing his total to twelve overall championships.  He’s a part of four IHSAA state records (200 Medley Relay, 200 Individual Medley, 100 Butterfly, and 500 Freestyle) and one national record, in the 200 Individual Medley.  He competed in the 2008 Olympic Trials and will be swimming for the United States this year in June. 

Kyle is active within his church youth group and is a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.  He is also working with fellow classmates and the Duneland Chamber of Commerce to help develop the city of Chesterton.

Whitaker is ranked in the top 25% of his class and will attend the University of Michigan on a swimming scholarship.

Chesterton Principal, James Goetz commented, “Kyle has always led by example both with his words and his actions.  He is indeed a very special individual and a great role model.  He has been an inspiration to everyone who has come in contact with him.”

He is the son of Steve and Lisa Whitaker of Chesterton.

Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, IHSAA corporate partner, presented Chesterton High School with a $1,000 scholarship in the name of Whitaker. 

Visit our friends at Visual Sports Network, the IHSAA’s official photographer for all state championship events and one of the leading action photographers in the Midwest. VSN, which was on site on Saturday, has captured hundreds of images from this year’s State Finals and will have them ready for viewing and purchase beginning Monday.