The IHSAA Executive Committee awards the Phil N. Eskew & Blake Ress Mental Attitude Awards to an outstanding senior participant in the Football State Finals of each classification. The 6A, 5A and 4A awards are named in honor of Eskew, the late third commissioner of the IHSAA, who guided the Association from 1962 to 1976. Under his direction, the IHSAA football tournament was initiated in 1973. Beginning in 2015, the 3A, 2A and 1A awards were re-named in honor of Ress, the IHSAA’s seventh commissioner who led the organization from 2000 to 2011. The recipients of this award, nominated by their principal and coach, were determined to have best demonstated mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in football. The Indianapolis Colts present $1,000 to the general scholarship fund of the recipient’s school.

Year Class Recipient School
1973-74 3A Dave Zapp Indianapolis Cathedral
  2A Leroy Robbins Blackford
  A John Davis Mishawaka Marian
1974-75 3A Scot Shaw Mishawaka
  2A Richard Goings Boonville
  A Paul Rassell Garrett
1975-76 3A Tom Smith Valparaiso
  2A David O’Connor Mishawaka Marian
  A Kevin Keller Wes-Del
1976-77 3A Randall Shuman Merrillville
  2A Kevin Altman Jasper
  A Thomas Weber Lafayette Central Catholic
1977-78 3A Bob Stephenson Evansville Reitz
  2A Pete Buchanan Plymouth
  A Ray Rockhill Tippecanoe Valley
1978-79 3A David Broecker Carmel
  2A Tom Bailey Goshen
  A Brian Way Lawrenceburg
1979-80 3A Blair Kiel Columbus East
  2A Kent Shelby Noblesville
  A Mark Shireman Tippecanoe Valley
1980-81 3A Scott Freckelton Hobart
  2A Kevin Mullet NorthWood
  A Jeff Greer Sheridan
1981-82 3A Mark Sarno Carmel
  2A Kent Yoder Goshen
  A Jeffrey Berning Woodlan
1982-83 3A Patrick Lockyear Castle
  2A Burt Austin Franklin Central
  A Joel Martin Oak Hill
1983-84 4A Mark Plencner Penn
  3A Pat Spencer Roncalli
  2A Mike Hackman Indianapolis Bishop Chatard
  A Brian Nehrig Fountain Central
1984-85 4A Antonino Maggio Hobart
  3A Steve Gordon Concord
  2A Michael Funk West Lafayette
  A Derry Zachery Sheridan
1985-86 5A Jeff George Warren Central
  4A Patrick McEuen Hobart
  3A Brad Traviolia Wawasee
  2A Cal Miller Fort Wayne Bishop Luers
  A Cary Starnal Jimtown
1986-87 5A Brock Rohrbacher Fort Wayne Snider
  4A Tom Reasoner Franklin Central
  3A Phil Wilson NorthWood
  2A Gene Smith Tell City
  A Matt Vessely North Judson
1987-88 5A Mike Stuckert Highland
  4A Mike Golarz Hobart
  3A Rob Schein Zionsville
  2A Tim Walker Rochester
  A Jeff Durham Sheridan
1988-89 5A Brian Murphy Ben Davis
  4A Rick Mirer Goshen
  3A Jeff Beck Tipton
  2A David McClain Western Boone
  A Brad Shields Sheridan
1989-90 5A Eric Kline Penn
  4A Tim Back Franklin Central
  3A Stan Lawrie Roncalli
  2A Rori Chaney Tri-West Hendricks
  A Joe Clark Springs Valley
1990-91 5A Kasey Clevenger Marion
  4A LaRon Moore Franklin Central
  3A Brian Baker Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger
  2A Anthony Alfano River Forest
  A Shawn Blaich South Decatur
1991-92 5A Chris Ings Ben Davis
  4A Frank Maggio Hobart
  3A Marcus Thorne Indianapolis Cathedral
  2A Toby Jacobs Indianapolis Scecina
  A Mark Franco Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter
1992-93 5A Chris Rickenbach Ben Davis
  4A Chad Welch Harrison (West Lafayette)
  3A Jeremy VanKley Northwestern
  2A Jeff Goeglein Fort Wayne Bishop Luers
  A Shelly Zachery Sheridan
1993-94 5A Eli Stoddard Bloomington South
  4A Kevin Hammonds Hobart
  3A Ryan Hartman NorthWood
  2A Daniel Provonsha West Lafayette
  A Matthew Roland North Miami
1994-95 5A Vince Lidy Castle
  4A Brad Weber DeKalb
  3A Brian Winkleman Tipton
  2A Jim Schroeder Evansville Mater Dei
  A Doug Morris North White
1995-96 5A Matt Geesman Penn
  4A Wes Gillman Franklin County
  3A Greg Schnarr Jasper
  2A Jason Guinn North Montgomery
  A James Hanlin Tri-West Hendricks
1996-97 5A Scott Becker Penn
  4A Durriell Brown Indianapolis Cathedral
  3A Wesley Kendall Zionsville
  2A Tim Flagg North Montgomery
  A Michael Lowe Carroll (Flora)
1997-98 5A Brad Monhaut Penn
  4A Adam Clements Hamilton Southeastern
  3A Robert Finn Andrean
  2A Matt Lewinski Jimtown
  A Tayt Odom Pioneer
1998-99 5A Manley Glick Homestead
  4A Russ Mann Concord
  3A Brad Greenlee NorthWood
  2A Craig Hisey Jimtown
  A Travis Delph Sheridan
1999-00 5A Jeremy Chandler Ben Davis
  4A Matt Hasbrook Indianapolis Cathedral
  3A Nicholas Worden Norwell
  2A Jeremiah Lane Danville
  A Zachary Wagner Perry Central
2000-01 5A Justin Smith Penn
  4A Cory Partlow Plainfield
  3A Adam Kress Heritage Hills
  2A Dominic Faraone Evansville Mater Dei
  A Josh Smith Attica
2001-02 5A Matt Handlon Valparaiso
  4A Alex Hensley Jasper
  3A Casey Nowinski Andrean
  2A Kyle Lindsay Fort Wayne Bishop Luers
  A Peter Wagner Southern Wells
2002-03 5A Marcus Heminger Fort Wayne Snider
  4A Tyler Warner Roncalli
  3A Michael Dury Indianapolis Bishop Chatard
  2A Brett Bueltel Southridge
  A Kole Ames South Putnam
2003-04 5A Wade Iams Penn
  4A Jeff Wedding East Noble
  3A Josh Sabo Northwood
  2A T.J. Siple Tri-West Hendricks
  A Thomas Marshall Seeger
2004-05 5A Andrew Gregory Fort Wayne Snider
  4A Kory Lantz Wawasee
  3A Bryce Pund Heritage Hills
  2A Rob Bragg Eastbrook
  A Spencer King Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter
2005-06 5A Chris Summers Hamilton Southeastern
  4A Nick Banich Roncalli
  3A Kevin Ball Indianapolis Bishop Chatard
  2A Ryan Kerney North Posey
  A Matt Cox Knightstown
2006-07 5A Ryan Murray Carmel
  4A Bobby Powers Indianapolis Cathedral
  3A Chandler Harnish Norwell
  2A Jacob Kahle Southridge
  A Taylor Scott Sheridan
2007-08 5A Cameron Lowry Pike
  4A Zakary Kissel Evansville Reitz
  3A Mitchell Speer South Bend St. Joseph’s
  2A Josh Mills Heritage Christian
  A Zachary Clapp Rockville
2008-09 5A Luke Swift Center Grove
  4A Joe Colone Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger
  3A Andrew Theising Evansville Memorial
  2A Brady Tolle Cass
  A Brent Hume Sheridan
2009-10 5A Adam Shaffer Carmel
  4A Erik Bryant Evansville Reitz
  3A Daniel Wodicka West Lafayette
  2A Timothy Connor Monrovia
  A Greg Burns Lafayette Central Catholic
2010-11 5A Koby Orris Fishers
  4A Connor Barthel Indianapolis Cathedral
  3A Joe Fehribach Indianapolis Bishop Chatard
  2A Travis Franklin North Putnam
  A Cody Christopher Lafayette Central Catholic
2011-12 5A Patrick Adkins Penn
  4A Jacob Bailey Indianapolis Cathedral
  3A Max VanVliet Indianapolis Bishop Chatard
  2A Andrew Morken Fort Wayne Bishop Luers
  A John Schrader Lafayette Central Catholic
2012-13 5A Adam Whisler Fort Wayne Snider
  4A Sam Schrader Mishawaka
  3A Corey Beck Hamilton Heights
  2A Joseph Sweeney Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter
  A Jimmy Mills Lafayette Central Catholic
2013-14  6A  Vic Roe  Carmel 
  5A Mitch Turley Westfield
  4A  Seth Frownfelter  Columbus East
  3A Eddie Barks  Brebeuf Jesuit
  2A Dan Fesenmeier Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter 
  A Sam Carlton Eastern Hancock
2014-15 6A Nate Thompson Carmel
  5A Jared Thomas Indianapolis Cathedral
  4A David Walbring New Prairie
  3A Nick Sprecher Tri-West Hendricks
  2A Rylan Arihood Rensselaer Central
  A Parker Englert Pioneer
2015-16 6A Camden Bohn  Penn
  5A Alex Neligh New Palestine
  4A  Connor Lynch East Central
  3A Jack Folkers West Lafayette
  2A John Williams  Monrovia
  A Dylan Morris  Linton-Stockton 
 2016-17 6A Logan Bontrager  Center Grove
  5A Harry Crider Columbus East
  4A Drew Minnich NorthWood
  3A Jacob Ruberg Lawrenceburg
  2A John Ragan Eastbrook
  A Austin Harmon Pioneer
2017-18  6A Tommy McDonald Ben Davis
  5A Kyle Wade Kokomo
  4A Jayden Williamson East Central
  3A Dillon Howell Brebeuf Jesuit
  2A Jayce Harter Southridge
  A Garrett Schroder Pioneer
 2018-19 6A Beau Robbins Carmel
  5A  Luke Ely  New Palestine 
  4A  Tavehon (T.J.) McGarry Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger 
  3A  Kyle Hazell  West Lafayette 
  2A  Peyton Young  Western Boone 
  Dustin Sparks  Pioneer