L.V. Phillips Mental Attitude Award

At the conclusion of each championship game, the IHSAA Executive Committee presents an award for mental attitude to an outstanding senior participant in each classification in the baseball state tournament. The recipient of this award, who is nominated by his principal and coach, must excel in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in baseball. The award is named in honor of the late L.V. Phillips, who served as the second commissioner of the IHSAA from 1945-1962.


Year Class Name School
1966-67   Phil Rohleder Jasper
1967-68   Hugh McClelland III Marion
1968-69   Dan Grossman Bloomington
1969-70   David Highmark North Central (Indianapolis)
1970-71   Mark Yates LaPorte
1971-72   Alan Beitler South Adams
1972-73   William Olds Lafayette Jefferson
1973-74   Curtis Phillips Terre Haute North
1974-75   Timothy L. Smith Logansport
1975-76   Jack L. Smith Sullivan
1976-77   Robert A. Heimach DeKalb
1977-78   Brian Lanham Blackford
1978-79   Don Mattingly Evansville Memorial
1979-80   Mike Hasselman DeKalb
1980-81   Gene (Bucky) Autry Ben Davis
1981-82   Doug Schreiber LaPorte
1982-83   Jim Flynn Evansville Memorial
1983-84   Glen Petroff Marion
1984-85   Michael Young South Bend Washington
1985-86   Chris Hollingshead Wabash
1986-87   Bart Emig Evansville Central
1987-88   Jamey Callane Kokomo
1988-89   Neil Grepke Fort Wayne Concordia Lutheran
1989-90   Eddie Dubbs LaPorte
1990-91   John Curl Logansport
1991-92   Rory Satkoski LaPorte
1992-93   John Sartore Evansville Memorial
1993-94   Brad Heuring Gibson Southern
1994-95   Ben Witzenman Fort Wayne Concordia Lutheran
1995-96   Phil Kendall Jasper
1996-97   Matt Mauck Jasper
1997-98 4A Blake Gaugler Penn
  3A Heath Uppencamp Jasper
  2A J.D. Closser Alexandria
  A Rodney Benner Tri-County
1998-99 4A Tal Short Lawrence North
  3A Nick Griffith Madison
  2A Keith Kinder Jimtown
  A Ronnie Kennett Milan
1999-00 4A Eric Jesch LaPorte
  3A John Pettibone Plymouth
  2A Brian Collins Taylor
  A Brandon Paschal Rossville
2000-01 4A Matthew Keener Castle
  3A Bill Potter Indianapolis Cathedral
  2A Andrew Rosner Speedway
  A Nicholas Houk Adams Central
2001-02 4A Kyle Smith Evansville North
  3A Mitchell Prout Vincennes Lincoln
  2A Drew Walters Manchester
  A Kyle Wright Fort Wayne Blackhawk Christian
2002-03 4A Clayton Richard McCutcheon
  3A Jacob Ringenberg Norwell
  2A Jerad Yelland Lawrenceburg
  A Colby Halderman Southwood
2003-04 4A Craig Hormann Lawrence Central
  3A Nick Stockwell Andrean
  2A Eric Van Matre Wapahani
  A Henry Arth Lafayette Central Catholic
2004-05 4A Drew Grimm Evansville North
  3A Tommy Finn Andrean
  2A Brandon Beachy Northwestern
  A Jacob Miller Hauser
2005-06 4A Jim Roesinger Indianapolis Cathedral
  3A Sam Linette Jasper
  2A Jared Baehl North Posey
  A Andrew Nelson Fort Wayne Blackhawk Christian
2006-07 4A Andrew Quinnette Kokomo
  3A Kreigh Williams Norwell
  2A John Seiler South Spencer
  A Steven McNabb Shakamak
2007-08 4A Ryan Trieglaff Homestead
  3A Justin Wright Crawfordsville
  2A Nathaniel Wills Elwood
  A Joshua Horton Shakamak
2008-09 4A Drake Everson Fort Wayne Snider
  3A Jeremy Lucas West Vigo
  2A Keith Lee Cass
  A Dru Anthrop Lafayette Central Catholic
2009-10 4A Ross O’Neill Carroll (Fort Wayne)
  3A Austin Ahrens Jasper
  2A Neil Snoeberger Delphi
  A Adam Westerman Tecumseh
2010-11 4A Phil Mosey Indianapolis Cathedral
  3A Adam Boehm Crawfordsville
  2A Aaron Seiler South Spencer
  A Devin Morgan Lafayette Central Catholic
2011-12 4A Jimmy McNamara Lake Central
  3A Connor Hale Brebeuf Jesuit
  2A Hunter Wells Northfield
  A Brock Dowell Shakamak
 2012-13 4A Matthew Eppers Elkhart Central
  3A Nick Gobert Jasper
  2A Ryan Keaffaber Northfield
  A Colin Vieke Vincennes Rivet
2013-14  4A Nathan Will  Terre Haute North
  3A Matthew Harpenau Gibson Southern
  2A Collin Hoots Wapahani
  A Brett Yeryar Shakamak
2014-15 4A Tim Lira Penn
  3A Ben Moore  Jasper
  2A Taylor Market South Spencer
  A Luke Monroe Rockville
2015-16  4A Jacob Hurtubise  Zionsville
  3A None  
  2A Tré Watson Providence
  A Brandon Vermillion Daleville
2016-17  4A  Trevor Waite Penn
  3A Evan Aders Jasper
  2A Blake Malatestinic Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter
  A Matt Homco Rossville
2017-18  4A Matt Wolff Fishers
  3A Sammy Barnett Silver Creek
  2A Justin Lammers Southridge
  A Ryan Williams University
2018-19 4A Julian Greenwell Columbus East
  3A Michael Doolin Andrean
  2A Joe LaGrange Southridge
  A Nate Shatkowski University